Schaf Daily Facial Cleaner

by tfowler

A few weeks ago I got a tweet on The Tweeter (are you following me on The Tweeter) from Schaf cosmetics, wondering if I’d like to review their products.  I’m not sure what the etiquette is, but I did want to let my readers know that I did get the line of Schaf cosmetics as promotional / review products.  I’ve used them all now, and there are some I quite enjoy a great deal.  I’ll be reviewing them over the next few weeks.

So, what’s The Deal with Schaf cosmetics.  They are vegan and not tested on animals, which is how we found each other.  But, there are a few other cool things about them: no parabens, artificial fragrances,  and a whole host of other things, including gluten.  Now, full disclosures, when I saw that their products are gluten free, I kinda rolled my eyes with a “oh gee, jumping on the gluten free bandwagon.”  I actually emailed them to say “really?”  Turns out I’m an idiot.  Gluten free cosmetics are specifically targeted for people with Celiac – who really do need to avoid gluten.  So, that’s pretty cool.

On to the review!

It’s billed as a face wash for all skin types, especially those with sensitive skin.  Now, I usually use products for sensitive skin, so I was excited.  The label says “This coconut-based cleanser – infused with a blend of Chamomile, Aloe and Cucumber,” and I thought “great.  Coconut.”  I really don’t like coconut, and I was worried that I would not enjoy this one bit.  You can’t really tell that there’s coconut in it, at all.  There’s no coconut scent to it.  There is, however, just a hint of cucumber scent to it, which I found very nice and refreshing – it wasn’t overpowering, and it dissipates very quickly, but is nice when its there.

I really enjoy this wash.  It’s a very light wash, and doesn’t feel “soapy” on your skin, but does leave your skin feeling very clean and refreshed.  It leaves your face feeling clean without it feeling like you’ve stripped away an entire layer of skin – which is a good thing.  I tend to use it in the evening before I go to bed.  It’s nice for that.

I think this will be sticking around in my daily routine. It’s a great end-of-the-day face wash.  I would also recommend it for anybody with very sensitive skin, or for those who don’t want any fragrance at all to their facewash – while there is a hint of cucumber, it goes away quite quickly.

Schaf facial cleaner

Schaf facial cleaner

Schaf facial cleaner: 5/5. 

tl;dr: excellent lightweight facial cleaner, almost no scent, great for sensitive skin.