Schaf Nutritive Daily Moisturizer

by tfowler

We’re at the last Schaf product – thanks again to Schaf for sending me their line to review.  This is another Schaf product I’m mixed on.

To start, it has, like all Schaf products, many qualities I really enjoy.  It is totally scent free, it is light weight, and it is non-oily.  These are three things I like in a moisturizer. These qualities also suggest it is an excellent moisturizer for those with sensitive skin – if that’s you, this is worth checking out.

The first time I tried the Daily Moisturizer, I applied it to my face, and it really wouldn’t absorb easily.  I thought that perhaps I had tried to apply too much, so the next morning I tried much less, and again, it wouldn’t absorb easily.  I spent a great deal of time trying to get my skin to absorb this moisturizer – standing there in front of the mirror and patting and rubbing furiously.  This was counter productive – if you have sensitive skin, you don’t want to spend all day sitting there agitating your skin by rubbing at it.  The results, though, once it did absorb, were great – it made my skin feel light, and really prevented any tightness on my face all day.

A few weeks later, I needed a blast of moisturizer mid afternoon.  Canadian winters are horrid for skin, and sometimes a once in the morning, once in the evening moisturizing routine doesn’t hold for the day.  Anyway, rather than dig through my gym bag for my dopp kit and dig through it to find my regular moisturizer, I just rummaged through the big box o skin care products and grabbed the Schaf moisturizer.  I got a small amount, put it on my face, and it absorbed immediately – and made my skin feel light and no longer tight.

I then went back and tried it the next morning with similar results to the first time around – it wouldn’t absorb easily into my skin.  I’m not sure about the science here.  I really don’t know why it doesn’t absorb easily on slightly wet skin, but does on dry skin.  Or maybe I’m doing it wrong?

Coming up with a final tally on this was difficult.  It certainly moisturizes very well, and is excellent for sensitive skin, but that I can’t get it to absorb on slightly wet skin is annoying.  I’m not sure it will displace my regular moisturizer.  But, it might be the moisturizer for you, depending on your needs.

moistshop_grande

Schaf Nutritive Daily Moisturizer

Schaf Nutritive Daily Moisturizer: 3.5 / 5

tl;dr: great lightweight moisturizer, good for sensitive skin, although it doesn’t always absorb easily onto wet skin.