Billy Jealousy Sucker Punch Face Scrub

by tfowler

A face scrub is a very important addition to any counter top or dopp kit of the classic wet shaver.  A scrub exfoliates the skin, prevents ingrown hairs, and prepares your skin for a closer shave – and a closer shave is a better shave.  I will, generally, use a face scrub three times a week to prepare myself for a good shave.  Being a dandy, I actually have two scrubs on the go at any time.  One is my “everyday scrub,” and the other is a “heavy duty scrub,” which I’ll only use once a week.  The Sucker Punch falls into the latter.

Let’s take a moment to discuss exfoliation agents.  A lot of scrubs have some sort of sciency beads in them, some use volcanic sand, and another favourite is crushed almond or walnut shells.  While I don’t really have a preference, I thought it would be useful to mention this up front – if you, or somebody who you live with, has a nut allergy, you should really read the ingredients list carefully to avoid the nutty scrubs.  The exfoliation agent for the Sucker Punch is “Tahitian Volcanic Black Sand” and crushed walnut shell.

I only used this scrub once a week, and I honestly doubt I would use it more frequently than that.  It is a pretty powerful scrub.  The consistency is very liquidy, more than I would have expected for a scrub.  This means it can be a little sloppy to apply, but it is easily controllable.  It gets on to your face easily, and you can feel it scrubbing away almost immediately.  You don’t need to put a lot – or any – pressure on with your hands to feel the grit working away on your face.  Within a few moments of applying, you’ll feel a tingling sensation on your face as well, which is quite pleasant.  It really leaves your face with a very clean feeling, and makes you feel awake and refreshed first thing in the morning.  Oh, it also does its job of helping out with ingrown hairs, and it makes my face ready for a shave a soon as I hop out of the shower.

So, now that my bottle is empty, will I replace it?  I’m not sure.  The thing is, as my skin is dry-ish and sensitive-ish, it sometimes, but not always, feels a bit too abrasive on my face.  I do like a good once a week heavy duty scrub, but I worry that in the depths of a Canadian winter, when my face is going to take a beating anyway, that this might not be the best.  There are also a few other “heavy duty” scrubs that are on my to try list before I make a final call.  I don’t dislike this scrub in any way, but I’m not yet sold on it being the one for me.

Billy Jealousy Sucker Punch

Billy Jealousy Sucker Punch

Billy Jealousy Sucker Punch face scrub: 3.5 / 5

tl;dr: good heavy duty scrub, leaves you ready to shave, has nuts in it, good for once a week.