Proraso White Pre-Shave

by tfowler

Missed the Saturday morning post by 24 hours.  Oh well.

Softening your beard before you shave is a really important part of the wet shave.  A lot of sites will suggest shaving oil, and I’ve used a few shaving oils, but I keep coming back to the Proraso White Pre Shave cream.  I like the cream a lot better than the oil, for some reason.  As with the other Proraso White line I’ve reviewed here, this is formulated for sensitive skin.  It has a very, very light scent, but so little that I can’t even really smell it.  It’s really nice on my skin, very soothing and softening.  It has a very nice slight tingling sensation on the skin, perhaps from the menthol in it – if this is going to bug you, don’t use it.

So, in your daily shaving ritual (or semi-daily, whatever), I wash my face, then apply the pre-shave treatment.  I let it sit there for a few minutes, usually while I’m working up my lather.  The pre-shave treatment softens your beard and lubricates your skin – it makes for a much more comfortable, close, and effective shave.  If you switch to wet shaving with a double-edged razor, you should certainly include a pre-shave treatment.

It does the job, and does it really well.  I’ve shaved with a few different pre-shave oils, and between all the pre-shave products I’ve used, this provides for the nicest, closest shave I’ve had.  It’s really great – and yes, it’s also miles better than not using a pre-shave product at all.

It’s very reasonably priced – retailing between $10 and $12 online, and in physical stores.  It is currently my go-to pre-shave product, and I use it every day.  Really worth picking up if you haven’t tried it yet.

A really nice pre-shave cream for sensitive skin

A really nice pre-shave cream for sensitive skin

 

Proraso White Pre-Shave Cream: 5/5

tl;dr: an excellent pre-shave cream, and my go-to pre-shave product.  Pick it up.